Staff NameAcademic qualificationsResearch interest
Dr Mihalis Chasomeris

+27 31 260 2575
chasomerism1@ukzn.ac.za
CEA
BSocSc
BSocSc (Hon)
MCom
PhD (Economics)

  • Maritime Studies

  • Maritime Economics and Policy

  • Port Economics: Port Governance, Port Regulation and Pricing

  • International Trade and Transportation Costs

  • Local Economic Development

Dr Bibi Zaheenah Chummun

+27 31 260 8943
chummunb@ukzn.ac.za
PhD in Business Administration (North West University)
MBA (Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University)
FCII- (Glasgow Caledonian University- UK)

  • Microfinance

  • Insurance, Microinsurance

  • Strategy Management

  • Local Economic Development

  • International Business Management

  • Operations Management/Supply Chain/Project Management

  • Marketing Management


Professor Cecile Gerwel Proches

+27 31 260 8318
gerwel@ukzn.ac.za
PhD (Leadership Studies)(UKZN)
MCom (Leadership Studies) (UKZN)
BCom Hons (Industrial & Organisational
Psychology) (NMMU)
BCom (UPE)

  • Leadership

  • Organisational Behaviour

  • Research Methodologies

  • Systems Thinking

  • Complexity Theory


Dr MacDonald Kanyangale

kanyangalem@ukzn.ac.za
PhD in management(Rhodes)
MBA(London)
Post Graduate Diploma in Marketing(The Chartered Institute of Marketing, UK)

  • Strategic Leadership

  • Strategy as Practice

  • Leadership development Entrepreneurship


Professor Ana Martins

+27 31 260 1493
martinsa@ukzn.ac.za
PhD, University Fernando Pessoa (Leadership and Strategic Management)

  • Competent Manager Dip (Open University)

  • BA (UNISA)


  • Emerging concerns for Humanising organisations and Leadership

Dr Pfano Mashau

+27 31 260 7021
mashaup@ukzn.ac.za
PhD (UKZN) (Management)
M.Com (UKZN) (Local Economic Development)
BCom (UKZN) Honours and BCom (UKZN) in Economics and management.

  • Agglomeration Economies

  • Entrepreneurship

  • Innovation

  • Location Economic development

  • Informal economy

Professor S O Migiro

+ 27 31 260 7564
migiro@ukzn.ac.za
MBA (Madurai Kamaraj
University)
DCom (Univ. Zululand)

  • Financial management

  • Corporate Finance

  • Management Accounting

  • Entrepreneurship

  • Business management

Dr Emmanuel Mutambara

+27 31 260 8104
mutambarae@ukzn.ac.za
PhD in Business
Administration (NWU)
Master of Business
Administration (ZOU)
Bachelor of Education (ZOU)

  • Leadership

  • Organisational behaviour

  • Business management

  • Strategy

  • Change management


Professor Theuns Pelser

+27 31 260 7172
pelser@ukzn.ac.za
B.Com
B.Com Hons
MCom
PhD (PU for CHE)

  • Strategy

  • Marketing Strategy

  • Organisational Development

Dr Vuyokazi Mtembu-Hlophe
+27 31 260 8198
mtembuv@ukzn.ac.za
BA (Psych) (UWC)
PGDM (UWC)
BCOM Hons (UNISA)
PGCE (UNISA)
MCOM (UKZN)
PhD (UKZN)

  • Management

  • Human Capital Management

  • Organisational Behaviour/ Dynamics

  • Green Economy, Green HRM,

  • Social Justice issues

  • Training and development (HRD)

  • Youth Employment


Professor Kriben Pillay

Telephone: +27 31 260 8300/1408
Email: pillaykri@ukzn.ac.za
B.A. (English, Speech and Drama) – University of Durban- Westville
B.A. Honours (English cum laude) – University of Durban- Westville
Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Linguistics – University of Fort Hare.
D.Phil. – University of Durban-Westville

  • Nonduality

  • Consciousness, neuroleadership and Illusion

  • Transformative leadership practice.

Professor Kriben Pillay

+27 31 260 8300/1408
pillaykri@ukzn.ac.za
MBA (Madurai Kamaraj University)
DCom (Univ. Zululand)

  • Financial and Management Accounting

  • Corporate Finance

  • Performance Management

  • Entrepreneurship

  • Operations Management

  • Electronic Commerce

Dr Bhasela Yalezo

+27 31 260 7038
Yalezob@ukzn.ac.za
Masters Development Studies
Masters in Business Administration

  • Economic Development

  • Investment (Public, & Private Investment, Foreign Direct Investment) & SMME.

Dr Nomkhosi Luthuli

+27 31 260 8887
LuthuliN5@ukzn.ac.za
Doctor of Philosophy
Master of Commerce

  • Economic Development

  • Industrial Development

  • Special Economic Zones (SEZs)

  • Aerotropolis

Dr Xoliswa Majola

+27 31 260 8887
Majolax@ukzn.ac.za
Doctor of Philosophy
Master of Commerce

  • Information and Communication Technology for Developing countries

  • Economic Development

  • Small Business Development and entrepreneurship

  • Information and Knowledge Management/Systems

  • Community development

Dr Christopher ChikandiwaBBS (Hons), (UZ)
M. Com, (UFH)
MBA, (WHU)

  • Risk Management in Strategic Sourcing

  • International Business and Supply Chain

  • Operations Management and Sustainability

  • Service Quality

Mr Mlondi BF Vilakazi

+27 31 260 7021
vilakazim@ukzn.ac.za
MCOMM
Leadership (LED)

  • Economic Development

  • Black Economic Empowerment

  • Neoliberalism

  • Economic Redress and Redistribution

Mr Nkosinathi Trevor Nkwanyana

+27 31 260 1800
nkwanyanan@ukzn.ac.za
Masters of Commerce (MCom), University of the Witwatersrand—Johannesburg
Bachelor of Business Administation (BBA), Brenau University—United States of America
National Diploma (NDip), Cedara College of Agriculture—Pietermaritzburg

  • Leadership

  • Business Process Redesign (BPR)

Dr Trevor Ncamiso Mtethwa

mtetwan@ukzn.ac.za

  • Human Resources Strategy